top of page

The Club

Officers of the Club:

President - Kim Burrier

Vice President - Chris LaPore

Treasurer - David Laux

Secretary - Ellen Gordon


Constitution and By-Laws

The constitution of the Airedale Terrier Club of Northern Ohio contains the fundamental operating principles that govern its operation. And the by-laws establish specific rules by which the group is to function.

Click here to see the current versions of our Constitutions and By-Laws:

Our History

Information from the historical files of the club:

During the middle and late thirties, Airedale entries in the Cleveland and Ohio area had fallen alarmingly, with many shows having one or two entries! The express purpose of organizing the Airedale Terrier Club of Northern Ohio was "improving quality as well as quantity." The highest aims are still adhered to.

The Airedale Terrier Club of Northern Ohio was organized and had its first meeting Sunday, March 30, 1941. The organizers and charter members were Mr. William Laffer, Mr. Joseph Nichols, Mr. Gene Rogers, Dr. Dudley Hain, Mrs. Louise Smith, and Mrs. Cloyd Kerlin. The first show the club sponsored was the August 1941 Chagrin Valley Show and we were pleased to have an entry of 21. Dr. Haines' 11-month-old male Cloverleaf's Johnny Takeover went Best of Breed, finishing his championship. We became affiliated with the parent club and held our first specialty in conjunction with the Lorain County Kennel Club's annual show on September 23, 1945.

The Club became affiliated with the Parent Club on November 30, 1944. The Club had 35 members.


Newsletter from 1948 club

bottom of page